Monday, 2 December 2013

Courtlight Series Book Tour - Review of Book 1 & Giveaway



Title- Sworn to Raise
Series- Courtlight Series #1
By- Terah Edun
Genre- Young Adult, Fantasy, Coming of Age

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron
.
But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.



As a lover of all things fantasy, this one is definitely if you're awaiting a sequel or are wanting a new read.

I honestly don't know what to say about this. I think with fantasy novels like this, there's lot of components to them and it can be hard to pick them all apart without writing a fully essay.

It's interesting how the main characters have more unique names than the rest. This is one of those genres where you expect different names. And it's always interesting how authors use this. Some use a normal name so that readers can relate to the character. Others use a name that when you read you go O.o and want to ask the author how to pronounce. I prefer unique names, it adds a level of awesomeness to the book, but I understand why authors use a more normal name.

This world is awesomely developed. I think it would have been awesome if there was a map in the beginning. I'm a visualizer, so a map is the best way for me to understand the world.

The cast of characters were great. They had their own quirks and I loved their special abilities they all had.

Overall, it's a well rounded fantasy that I think lovers of Leigh Bardugo, and similar authors.


About the Author
Terah Edun is a young adult  fantasy writer born and raised in the Atlanta metropolitan area, who transplanted to the Northeast region for college, and has spent years living abroad in South Sudan and Morocco. She writes the stories that she always loved to read as a young girl.

Links-

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Design by EvieSeo. Powered by Blogger.